High Tide Aquatics

Opinions on Philips CoralCare gen2 lights?

rygh

BOD
BOD
I am looking for new lights. Never seem to have time to get around to new DIY ones.

Very important to me is lower maintenance and long life.
So the Philips ones have two key advantages:
1) No fans to clean, clog, or fail.
2) The UV is more around 415 nm Violet, not the deep UV that fails so fast.

But not a ton of feedback out there on those lights.

I have no experience with either, but if you’re looking for a no fan solution with a slightly lower spectrum support take a look at ATI Straton.

The Reefi UNO 2.0 have a fan but also an extremely robust passive cooling system much like a CPU heat sink with copper tubing and fins. You can also adjust the fan speed in the GUI controls. I’ve not once heard it running since I had it in hand testing it before I hung the light. Coming from bad experiences with fans ie AI Primes, this is way overbuilt and well done. Humblefish has a couple threads of discussion about it. It does have actual UV diodes below 380nm. At $480 each and more power and spread than an XR-30 it’s worth a look IMO

I’ve also heard the ATI Stratons are fantastic both in actual use and tests. The price is just kind of stratospheric.

I have no experience with either, but if you’re looking for a no fan solution with a slightly lower spectrum support take a look at ATI Straton.

@cc_reefkpr on Instagram is using the Stratons on multiple tanks. You can find some great info on his account.