Kessil

Randy’s venture into salt water.

Status
Not open for further replies.
ive been into fish tanks since 6 years old when I would help my dad with the 35 gallon octagon. I have 30 years of experience with freshwater and during covid I decided to try my luck with saltwater.

I currently have the following setup (that will soon be upgraded)

55 gallon acrylic tank
Piano wood glossy natural stand (really beautiful)
Kessil AP700
Ecotech mp40
Hydor v3 (cheapie I use to blow directly on sps)
Fluval fx6 pimped out with lots of biological media. ( YouTube has a video about this)
Apex full
Apex auto feeder

fish

Naso tang
Sailfin tang (Red Sea)
Yellow tang (no I don’t want to sell it lol)
Hippo tang
4 clown fish
Halloween hermit crab
Turbo snails
Asteri
Fire red shrimp
Sea apple
Sea urchin

I’m custom building a red oak and birch wood stand presently for the new build. New 130 gallon tank just sitting in living room
Waiting for the stand to get finished.

well there’s lots more to share but this is a good start.

Randy

Last edited:
Shitty day.

A26B003C-048C-496E-9891-1D7F2FDD0CCA.jpeg

I debated posting this because I really don’t want to hear “ I told you so”.

i started feeding 3x a day of reef frenzy and after a few days all my tangs suddenly died between 1am and 730am today. This after a 13 hour day. The cake was the flat tire when going to the fish store.

today was a major water change and back on track.

A1766BCE-7398-4C94-9EBD-CFC13E854027.jpeg

Still have my four clown fish. So I’m going back to once a day feeding of reef frenzy. Three times a day was a death sentence for my tangs.