Cali Kid Corals

Seawater

Zero Gravitas

Supporting Member
So... I’ve bought water often from some of the local fish stores in San Francisco. A couple of them sell seawater that they say is harvested off the shore somewhere around half Moon Bay. My question is, since I live right by the ocean and the pier, can I just harvest sea water from the end of the pier? Do you need to be so many miles out to have some specific chemistry? Or is using cold sea water for a tropical tank just a bad idea in the first place? I’ve been using sea water from these local fish stores for years and it seems to do the trick, but then again I’m a pretty amateur hobbyist at best. I live a block away from the pier. Maybe I could put it through some purification process?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OK so I read all the posts, and did some research ‘online’, And there seems to be some different schools of thought about it. There are a lot of variables I can think of right off the top of my head, how close is it to possible contaminants, like oil from docks and such. Is it post-storm, which would affect phosphates that might be dredged up. and how far from the shore you are definitely seems to be a factor. I was thinking I might take some of the sea water from the end of the Pacifica pier and get it tested. I could take it during different tides levels and during lulls between storms and see what they look like. One of the main arguments I see is that Some of the algae specific to the temperatures offshore near Pacifica would die if heated to tropical tank temperatures and release harmful chemicals. Also there is the Pacifica Municipal golf course right next to the pier and it is known to have large amounts of standing water that is pumped straight into the sea when it rains too much…

I would be interested to learn what processes the Monterey Bay aquarium uses on the sea water before they introduce it into their tropical fish environments. lol, Maybe I could intern there…