Kessil

Tank repair?

Srt4eric

Vice President
BOD
So I'm a pretty handy kind of guy. I mean i have YouTube and a can do attitude, what else do I really need? So I've watched a few videos on tank repair and replacement of broken panels. Have any of you actually done this? The chipped panel of mine is 24"×20" and I found it for about $50.

Thoughts? Comments? Concerns?

So should I get tempered or not? Oh, and I was completely wrong about what side chipped.. it's the 48"×20" $132 for regular polished edges $169 for tempered and polished edges.

I'm by no means an expert, but I have replaced bottom panels before, with PVC sheeting, going to have a big glass project in the future but that's under wraps for now.

1. New silicone doesn't tend to stick well to old silicone, so there's going to be a potential weak link if you simply replace a single pane
2. If you want to do it right, avoid the silicone you get at the big box stores. RTV100 series is what you want.
3. Make sure your spacing between the panels is consistent you don't want too much silicone, you don't want too little, so tiny spacers attached in there will do wonders
4. Usually tanks will have 2 layers of silicone, the silicone that is physically holding the panels together and preventing leaks, and then a bead of silicone over the inside corners to protect the structural silicone from the water.

I wouldn't get tempered as long as you haven't structurally changed anything, i.e. same thickness glass, whatever bracing you had is still going to be utilized.

I'm pretty sure that only the bottoms of some tanks are tempered, most are just regular glass. You don't want tempered if you plan to drill it