Cali Kid Corals

Whats Going On Everyone?

How's it going? I just moved to the south bay area and I am looking to get back into a hobby I love! I have had complete freshwater planted tanks both high and low tech. I was over at Neptune Aquatics and was looking to start a new tank with cichlids, but after looking and asking a ton of questions I am thinking of going Saltwater. I have done a lot of research the last couple of days and I am very interested in a reef setup, because I like both fish and coral. Plus they look FANTASTIC!

So, I will admit I am a complete noob and almost need my hand held lol. I have no idea what I am doing when it comes to saltwater and the equipment needed. I was thinking of starting out with a 20gal, and if all goes well upgrade from there. Does anyone have any good resource's or advice to get me started? I have been browsing the forums here and over at norcalreefclub.org. Not sure where to start though. Looking start my tank this weekend and start cycling, but idk what I need. So that might be delayed lol.

Please any suggestions or info would be AMAZING right now. I am VERY ambitious!

Thanks!

Welcome! You're in the right place. There's a lot of info on here that will help you. 20 gallons might be a good start, but I would go with a 55 gallon. More water volume will give you more room for noob mistakes - which everyone makes. Also you'll want to upgrade fast ;)

Yes, welcome!
+1 on starting with a larger tank. Don't let the apparent simplicity of a nano-tank fool you.

Another suggestion, go buy a good book on marine tanks, and read it before buying anything.
Yes, these days you can find all the info online, but having it spelled out clearly is REALLY helpful.
One of my favorites was "The Conscientious marine aquarist" by Fenner. But there are cheaper/simpler ones.