Neptune Aquatics

How do you stop your Montis from taking over your tank?

I used to like them because they were the easiest sps to keep but they are taking over my tank. How do you guys stop it from growing and encrusintg on to rocks?

Heehee....I'm no expert on sps and you are welcome to get frags. I think when I setup this tank, I made the mistake of putting them on top and now it's shading alot of my other corals. Plus it's encrusting on to many of the rocks that I really like. They are like gsp.

You could put your existing monti's on rocks (like rock slices or rubble) with superglue then once they cover that material cut the edge and twist them to break the superglue and start over again. It sounds kinda like a pain but should work. You could also put them in a colony of something that can hold it back. I have a rock with monit surrounded by zoa's and it appears to be staying in control. Here is a pic. (someone correct me if I'm wrong, I was told this was monti but it doesn't have polyps like I've seen in some frags) I've been eyeing some monti at my LFS so if you plan on handing stuff out keep me in mind.

Those are all great idea but what if they already encrusted on area you didn't want them to be. Could you use kalk paste like you do with aptasia?