Jestersix

Looking for help to relocate an established tank.

Chrism1330

Supporting Member
Hey guys im looking to purchase one of our members established tanks but im trying to plan out how to successfully do it. Its a Red Sea Reefer 250 has livestock and corals in it already. The livestock in the members tank would not fit in my 24g tank. What are the options I have to successfully get this done? Someone recommended me to get a 40g tank from petco, pour water from the established tank into the 40g, cycle it get it going while i get the tank up and running. The livestock can sit in the 40g and then when the tank is ready i can just acclimate into the new tank. Would anyone be willing to help me complete this process/transfer as well since I would be doing this job alone, as a newbie I dont want to mess this up.

Add a date and time, or range of dates, and people can see if they're free to help.

I have a 60 gallon Rubbermaid stock tub you can borrow but I'm in Dublin so a bit further away. In the temporary holding tank, having enough circulation/aeration and heating will be sufficient for a day or two while you get the other tank set up. Any more than that you'll need to do water changes to keep the water clean. You don't need to fill the whole tub with water from the old tank. 25% is fine and the rest have fresh mixed saltwater. Make sure you blow off all the detritus from the rock before you put them in the holding tank or else the settled gunk may foul up the water.

Using suction cup lifters will make it easier to hold and move the tank. Be extra careful with rimless tank and how you move or set them down. One small bump on a hard surface will chip the tank; this has happened to a lot of people. The club has a couple sets you can borrow

Last edited:
This may help. Here's my equipment checklist for when I'm breaking down a used aquarium.

Truck/Van/SUV big enough to fit aquarium, stand, sump and equipment
Suction cups (borrow from BAR)