Jestersix

Power surge?

Hi all
I recently had few random mini power outage in San Francisco, my reef tank would lose power and surge back on after 10 sec. One time actually fried my heater and Inkbird. What does everyone use to protect their expansive equipments. I just switched my outlet to GFCI. Should I also use some kind of surge protector for redundancy? I would love to hear ideas and suggestions. TIA

I have been using these for many years without issue. I don't know if the included 15amp breaker inside has prevented anything or nothing has needed to be prevented? to be completely honest, I don't know much about electricity. Pretty low tech which I appreciate for my style & setup.

I am interested to hear what others have to say.
1678223299171.png

I don’t think GFCI will protect your equipment from power surges, that is mostly to protect you from short circuits of high voltage from killing you in my limited understanding.

I think the Apex power bars function as surge protectors. Some other smart outlets do too, but obviously that should be verified for the specific model. If you aren’t using those, then yes I’d plug things into a surge protector just like you would for any sensitive electronics.

There are a ton of Surge Protector look-a-likes these days. Make sure that the packaging specifically says Surge Protection. I bought what I thought was a Surge Protector at one point last year and it turned out to be just a multi-receptical extension chord.

I have all pumps and heaters running on a Kasa (smart control & surge protector) at this point so I can swing it over to a Goal-Zero battery backup if there is a power outage. Lights, ATO, and dosers are connected to a surge protector, but don't go to the battery backup.