got ethical husbandry?

QOTD: What's the coolest fact you know?

IOnceWasLegend

Frag Swap Coordinator
BOD
Learning new things is always fun. So: what's the coolest fact you know?

I studied neuroscience, so my favorite: you have more cells in your brain than there are stars in our galaxy. There's ~100 billion stars in our galaxy, and ~100 billion neurons (electrically active) cells, but neurons are only a fraction of the cells in your brain.

What's even more insane is that your brain has between 1,000 and 10,000 connections (synapses) for each cell.

The brain is fascinating and complex!

Well one's definition of "cool" may definitely vary greatly from others but....

In stars like our Sun fusion occurs via a process called the Proton-Proton chain, the basics is ionized hydrogen fuse together over a series of events and ultimately 4 hydrogen turn into one helium, this take a lot of heat AND pressure this is because the hydrogen ions are just protons and two protons don't want to be near each other at all so the heat makes everything wiggle around really fast and the pressure holds it close so that you can get collisions that eventually "stick" hence fusion. In stars that are heavier than our Sun when they fuse hydrogen they use a different method called the CNO cycle, now the net result is the same 4 hydrogen turn into 1 helium but the way it does it involves Carbon, Nitrogen and Oxygen, without boring you of the details this occurs it heavier stars because the cores are hotter and there's even more pressure, and instead of 2 protons that don't want to be near each other, 1 proton (hydrogen) doesn't want be near the 6 protons of a carbon (6 times the repulsive force at similar distances).