Jestersix

Apex Big Picture Questions

MolaMola

Supporting Member
Hi. Controller newbie here and not techy. Need to set up Apex at remote location (school) but I am at home. Have spent hours sifting thru posts and forums and realize my problem is I have no clue about the big picture here so all the details and procedures are useless to me.
Questions:
1) Can I update firmware and temporarily set up and familiarize myself with Apex and Fusion via my home router or will this cause problems when hooking it up at school?
2) Do I have to/should I use the same computer for setting up Apex and every time I make changes in the future? (At home I use a Mac laptop but do not routinely bring it to school. At school I have a Mac desktop or Windows netbook. Should I stick with one device?)
3) At school I have a wall ethernet port right by the tank for the Apex and across the room is another wall ethernet port my desktop is connected to. Does plugging into both count as a direct connection?
-Maureen

I've been playing with my new-to-me Apex.

1) There won't be a problem. You just need to do the net setup again. The IP address will be different as the router it will be attached are different routers.

2) There are 2 interfaces for Apex. A local interface and web based Fusion. The local interface requires you to be logged into the same network as Apex. Fusion is web based so you don't need to be on the same network. On the local Apex it uses web pages loaded from the unit self so any computer will work. There is no software you have to download and install on your computer. Everything is in the Apex itself.

3) Yes, as long as both ports are in the network. That count's as direct connection. Neptune means not to have your computer on wifi connected to the network but to have a wired connection to the same network.

Hope this helps.
Vincent

Maureen,