High Tide Aquatics

complete newbie to photography, please help

Hey all,
So, for a wedding present my buddies want to buy me and my soon to be wife a nice camera. I want to use it to do photos of my reef as well as family photos/ vacations. I am thinking about an SLR.... maybe a Nikon D90 or comparable...hell i don't even know what SLR stands for LOL

Since I don't know anything more than a basic point and shoot camera I need some serious help in telling them what i want.

also, what is needed to take these beautiful pics of corals and fish? i would love to blow some up and put them in my house and office..

So, if you guys could point me in the right direction, as me some questions and I'll do the best I can to answering in what little knowledge I have
Cheers

Single lens reflex. ;)

Too much to go through. If anything, pick up a book or check out some forums (e.g. Aquatic Photography Forum). Go through some of kinetic's postings as well in this forum (i.e. stickies).

[quote author=Zepplock link=topic=6976.msg90688#msg90688 date=1237568276]
I'd suggest Nikon D40 - once you learn how to use it - you'll know if you need D90 or higher models
[/quote]

+1

My girlfriend got me the D50, my first and only DSLR, and it's been great. Haven't found any real need to upgrade to a different camera. All I've added are a new lens, polarizer, and a larger memory card.

Yes, I had D50 as my first camera too. Even though I have D90 now, D50 was not a BAD camera. I have lots and lots of great photos.

It's better to spend money on good lens. Buy macro/wide/prime lens for it. (D40 does not support ALL lens, so be careful)

I use tamron 90mm 2.8f on my d90 now
I really like it and most pics here http://www.flickr.com/photos/zepplock/ are macro ones using 90mm tamron

The d40 is a very capable camera but you will be limited to af-s or hsm lenses only for af.. IF it was me I'd want something that could af both af-s and af-d lenses...