High Tide Aquatics

Dana Riddle Reviews Hanna Checkers

Very timely post.
I just bought a Hanna Alkalinity tester from BRS, and got it yesterday!

I do really like how quick and easy it is to use.

I only had time for one quick test though. 210 ppm (11.75 dkh). Higher than expected,
and higher than I would like if correct.
Interesting how that matches the concerns expressed in the article.
But only one test, and I have not yet compared it to API/Salifert yet, so who knows.

I've been using mine for about 6 months now. Originally I did side by side comparisons with the Salifert and found it a bit high. Approx 1.0dhk higher. So I've targeted 9.5 to 10.5 for my tank using the Hanna. Other than that it's been a great.

-Gregory

I've been tempted to get a few of these, but I can't see myself do getting an alkalinity one, it's just too damn easy to measure with regents and a vial. Put 5mL water in vial, add drops until color changes, count drops you added, that's your dkH. My biggest concern with tank testing isn't how precise it is, but mostly to give me a feel for if something is way out of whack.

I agree with mike. For me the API alk kit is quick, cheap, easy, and pretty accurate. I do want the phosphate checker tho. Never found a test kit I like for phosphate. I was hopin they would change the reagents for it from powder to liquid like they did with the alk checker. From what i recall people liked that change quite a bit. Maybe I'll just bite the bullet and get it. Been waiting awhile, and it looks like it's real accurate!

As long as the kit works it really doesn't matter what you use. It's just important to find something you will use. For me it made the difference from testing when I thought "it's been too long... better do it" and then having to adjust the Alk. The tank has really prospered because of it.

-Gregory