Our mission

Getting out of a bad cycle?

borker

Supporting Member
Need some help here. Per my tank journal I’m relatively new to dosing and this is my first small tank.

What’s happened:
- my raja chalice from @ofzakaria started dying
- I tested my alk - it had been stable but had dropped to 6.5
- slowly increased my all for reef dosing (10%) but it was still hanging low at 7.1-7.4
- I upped dosing again (10% more) and did a couple of spot doses
- ran out of Alk test for Hanna ordered new reagent
- no tests for 3 days
- 2 tests today are 11.5 alk

I am in a bad spiral here.

What’s going on? Reagent? The small dose increases suddenly swinging the balance like crazy?

2 babies at home - so not tons of time to debug.

Any strategies or experience here?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think since you upped the dosing the alk just kept going up since the rate of consumption didn't change(if anything it may have slightly decreased as you changed your parameters). I'd shut off dosing until alk is around 10 - 10.5, then start it dialed back 20% from what it is now. In a few days you should be back to 8-9ish. Then you need to readjust based on your tank's consumption to keep it stable.

Test one day and don't dose anything for 24 hours. test again after 24 hours. plug your info into this calculator http://reef.diesyst.com/chemcalc/chemcalc.html
for "current alk" put 8.0 and" desired alk" put 8.0 + whatever your alk dropped in 24hr.

Whatever amount it tells you is what you should be dosing per day.

There are lots of things that can cause your alk to change. Small changes are always key.

As @Adit0 said, you don't want to up your dosing to raise it. Up your dosing if it's continuing to go down. If it's stable but you just want to raise it, just do manual dosi g on top of your automated dosing

I have a trident sitting around... you don’t have apex tho do you?

No. X1 doser is my first attempt at any kind of automation other than ATO.