Our mission

Hello BAR, a scotch neat please.

Hiya Folks,

I joined BAR on the prompting of Derrick at Ocean Treasures Aquarium and Jim at Green Marine. This is the first time I have joined a hobby club, aside from sports. I have been keeping tropical fish for over 25 years, I initially started in freshwater, switched to reef, then planted tanks, dabbled in guppy breeding, and now back to corals. The last time I had a saltwater tank was about eight years ago... until now. An addict should never return to the scene of the crime, and woe is me, I made the mistake of stopping by Tong's Tropical Fish in Fountain Valley in February. I remember patronizing Tong's when they first opened years ago and visit now and then just to look at their display tanks -- no really. This time, my self-control crumbled not at the sight of some beautiful lifestock, but rather, get this, at hardware. Yup, one glimpse of the new Fluval Edge tank and the geek gears in my head exploded with possibilities. So much has changed in reefkeeping from when I initially started in the late 80's, and with the advance of technology and general knowledge, marine systems are much easier now versus before. I bought the tank. I cursed myself while unloading the big box from the trunk. I berated myself while lugging the tank back to San Francisco. I was horrified yet relieved to open the box at home and find huge cracks and broken glass inside the tank. I felt victorious to find another replacement at 6th Avenue Aquarium an hour later.