Need 140 gallons saltwater or RO water

Discussion in 'Resources' started by nly04, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. nly04

    nly04 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    71
    I'm having my 1st reef tank setup and now I need some water. Where can I get good deal for 140 gal of good saltwater or RO water?
     
  2. denzil

    denzil Webmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    247
    Where are you located? Most, if not all, of our sponsors have saltwater readily available for purchase.
     
  3. nly04

    nly04 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    71
    East bay, Fremont Area.
     
  4. denzil

    denzil Webmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    247
    You could go to Neptune Aquatics in Milpitas or Aquatic Collection in Hayward.
     
  5. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    588
    Consider a RODI unit. The price of RO/SW would offset the cost of one in no time.
     
    denzil likes this.
  6. nly04

    nly04 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    71
    I got the Aquaticlife delux RO-DI unit but it waste almost 6 gal of water to produce 1 gal of good water. Thinking I have to paid for 7 gal of water plus salt to get one gallon of saltwater. Any recommend for a good value 5 stage RO-DI unit?
     
  7. Kensington Reefer

    Kensington Reefer Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    336
    Poly bio marine koldster-il
    No waste water
     
  8. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    588
    What kind of pressure are you getting with that Aquaticlife unit?
     
    mjkonesky likes this.
  9. nly04

    nly04 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    71
    Optimal is 60 PSI but max is 100 psi
     
  10. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    588
    So you're hitting at least 60 PSI on your actual feed?
     
  11. nly04

    nly04 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    71
    I guess so, I dont have a pressure meter to measure. I'm using the water line on the back yard. this is the strongest pressure around the house.
     
  12. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,537
    Likes Received:
    726
    Double check the flush valves, and make sure they are off all the way.
    But 7:1 is really not all that far out of normal.

    You might want this one instead:
    http://spectrapure.com/AQUARIUM/RO-DI-SYSTEMS/Ultra-High-Efficiency-1-1-Ratio-Systems
     
  13. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Definitely get a pressure gauge, $20 from BRS. I bet your pressure is low. A booster pump will fix it if that is the issue. Low pressure will make any ro unit waste more water than it would at a good psi (70-80 for most).
    You aren't going to find water for less than a filler a gallon as far as I know. Especially not delivered if that's what you're looking for.
     
  14. zeroinverse

    zeroinverse Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    42
    @kensington
    Since the poly bio is not really an RO system, curious how you use it. Do you use it directly for your topoff water? For your salt mixing water?

    Do you already have good water quality where you are to make sure minimal impact/filtering is needed?

    I always thought chloramines and such are detrimental to our livestock?

    Love to learn more.
     
  15. nly04

    nly04 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    71
    I called Aquaticlife support yesterday and resolve some issue. I tried the Ro-DI again last night, after first 40 gal of good water, I only waste around 50 gallon of bad water. But I have another issue, before filter tap water is 250 ppm, after filter my good water is 11 ppm, my drinking water from the water store is 4ppm, all measure by the TDS-3 meter. I just called the support again this morning and he recommend me to adjust the membrane cartridge enable to lower the TDS.
     
  16. gimmito

    gimmito Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,749
    Likes Received:
    226
    +1 and/or consider a kati ani (zero waste water also).
     
  17. gimmito

    gimmito Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,749
    Likes Received:
    226

    I use Kold Sterile Filters and then run it through Kati Ani resins. Silmiliar to a typical
    RO/DI without the waste water. They're pics on my build thread of it.

    Here's more info:

    http://www.poly-bio-marine.com
     
    zeroinverse likes this.
  18. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,537
    Likes Received:
    726
    zeroinverse likes this.
  19. zeroinverse

    zeroinverse Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    42
    wow, just read the website in more detail. My initial read when first mentioned, I did not read the fine print.

    Amazing!
    4gpm with ability to process 150,000 gallons... And for $300 (at least that is what I saw on their website). Sounds totally worth it!

    4gpm is fast! In an hour, I'll make 240 gallons of filtered water!
     
  20. gimmito

    gimmito Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,749
    Likes Received:
    226
    zeroinverse likes this.

Share This Page