Cali Kid Corals

Need some ATO advice for my setup

I have a large nano, 45G with almost everything built into the top of the tank, mini sump, lights and HOB skimmer.

I've gone off designing (concept on paper) an ATO setup with Tunze pump + sourced parts including very precise infrared sensor for top level & float switch for low (trigger) level.

My concern is my top off amount, since the tank is practically completely covered except for the small sump on top being uncovered I hardly have to top off that often roughly a gallon week. So will the ATO system even trigger on & off accurately to add the small amount I need? I have no prior experience with ATO systems so I'm not sure how accurate they can be or how sensitive to the small water level drop I get (about half an inch) I guess I can run 2 infrared sensors and get really nit-picky on how sensitive my on/off levels are but without prior trial & error I can't justify throwing money at these quality parts only to possibly find out they are not doing the job.

Of course I can keep manually dosing KH (my only concern ATM) but that rules out kalkwasser which is the whole reason why I want to go ATO and avoid the KH swings that come with manual KH dosing (from 7.5 up to 10) not to mention the hassle of dosing on a daily basis + topping off twice a week.

I understand that the real solution is to go with a proper sump, but the stand my 45g sits on can't hold a decent sump and I do have a 55g "normal" tank that I plan on running with a 20-25g sump underneath but it may be a while since I can't switch to it till I finish remodeling the part of my home where I want it. Quite an annoying dilemma because I don't want to wait that long before adding all the livestock i want in my tank :p

So is it worth putting in all the energy into building this ATO setup I have planned or keep manually dosing?