Jestersix

New tank needs seed

Hey,
I'm new to the reef keeping-actually I'll be going through the process of setting up my new tank! ;D What I would like to know is if anyone has like a cup-full of live sand to seed mine. I didn't buy live sand because I didn't have enough money- I'm a teen and running on chore money.. so ya! Any advice would also be appreciated about curing live rock would be nice too! Thanks!

I am in San Francisco and I am in the process of upgrading to a bigger tank. I currently have 3 sandbeds running and in a month 2 will be disassembled. You are welcome to scoops of any of the three, if sf is a convenient place for you.

Also, I will be putting a 57g tank up for sale when I finish moving things over, and you'd be welcome to as much of that sand as you wanted.

As for curing live rocks, it really depends on their condition. Most rock you buy in stores is already mostly cured, so just adding it to the tank while you cycle is fine.

Thanks! Actually I'm going there soon to pick up some fish. I dnt need all that much sand since I already have 20lbs, so just a scoop or two. (i could also just take the sand out i currently have and soak it and rinse it and use it in another tank-it isnt seeded)
The rock I have right now I got from a friend and it was infested with aptasias. I boiled it and its now dead. So I have to cure it. Sadly also, it had alot of corraline algae. :(
Thanks!

I have a 20-gallon, 15 lbs dead rock that needs to be cured, getting 5 lbs completely cure ready to go live rock. shud i get un-cured live rock and cure it w/my deadish rock. i boiled the rock.

Yikes! I really dislike the trend of boiling or acid dipping rock to get rid of a pest like that.

In any case, I've never boiled rock so I'm not sure what the end result is. If you have clean rocks with no boiled dead stuff as a result just drop them in your tank and seed them with some actual live rock as you plan to do.