Reef nutrition

Overflow box issues

IOnceWasLegend

Frag Swap Coordinator
BOD
I've run into my first problems with the new build on my 50g ZooMed low boy frag tank:

1. There is a rim on this tank, which I was dumb and didn't consider.
2. The pre-drilled drain hole is not big enough for the Eshopps Prodigy M overflow box I got.

Overflow hole.jpg

I'd prefer not to drill the tank if I can avoid doing so (since I have no experience doing that), and I'd need to remove at least part of the brace around the top to boot. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to plumb this?

Alternately, if there's any services around that drill tanks, how bad of an idea is it to cut away part of the rim to let the overflow box sit flush?

It’s pretty easy to drill. Just need the right size hole saw (diamond coated)

Have the diamond saw (came with the box), but still a bit concerned about it. And it's the height of the weir that matters, not the height of the drain, correct?

And also is there a way to cap a hole in a tank? Given the position of the first hole I don't think that'll be serviceable.

Last edited:
Have the diamond saw (came with the box), but still a bit concerned about it. And it's the height of the weir that matters, not the height of the drain, correct?

And also is there a way to cap a hole in a tank? Given the position of the first hole I don't think that'll be serviceable.
You can put a bulkhead with a cap or plug in the existing hole, or use it for a return, or patch it.

So i wouldn't cut away the rim... serves a purpose... like keeping the tank together... :)

An option might be to put a shim to have the weir sit flush to the edge of the rim..

Alternatively, they sell overflow box/ weirs on Ebay. Switch plays and grab one of those.

Yeah, you can patch it with a piece of glass using silicone sealant.