High Tide Aquatics

29g BioCube QT tank

I normally wouldn't post pictures of a quarantine aquarium, but John @Flagg37 double dared me to quit lurking. Here are just some casual pictures of my small holding tank as I upgrade to a 72 incher. This QT tank has been in continuous operation for about 10 years, but the live sand & rocks are about 22 years old migrated from previous setups. No sump or skimmer, but the filtration in back compartment is sand, coral rubble, and macro algae. An external Eheim canister filter provides additional water polishing. Flow is from back filter water return and Eco tech MP40. I use real ocean water and periodically do 100% water changes when the corals look "off" to me. I only dose with 2-part B-ionic every 2 weeks and top off with R/O water from my kitchen sink every other day. Light is from one Orphek PR72 LED pendant.

Last edited:
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
View attachment 5531

Last edited:
Sweet, I'm new to creating Saltwater Environments. This one is very, very clean. I have sand and now wonder why I didn't just go without. I'm still breaking mine in...

Ben - you have some beautiful fish in your tank - especially all the angels but do you ever worry that they may start nibbling on your corals? I thought they were not "reef safe"......

@Wyatt Naschke there's sand in the filter, just not in the main display. The crushed coral sand is kept in two skinny media bags in the rear and adds to the system's stability. I get the benefits of a deep sand bed without the long term problems. SPS, high current, and sand don't mix.