Jestersix

QT Tank - Fish Medication

kinetic

Supporting Member
I have an ORA orchid dottyback and gold sailfin blenny coming tomorrow from LiveAquaria (DD), and I setup a QT tank (actually just leftovers from when I was going to do a treatment tank for my magnifica).

I don't have any fish medication yet, and was just going to hold them for a week or two in the QT and medicate as needed. I have little experience diagnosing, but I guess I can tell if something has Ich or looks bad and then I figure I'd just look it up once I can see a problem and purchase meds as needed.

Then I know there's the whole TTM method for Ich. Not sure if I want to go through all that (or have the time at the moment).

Here are my questions:
  1. Should I do preventative medications even if I don't see any symptoms? If so, which ones?
  2. I never QT'd my Geometric hawkfish, I just took a big chance and I guess I got lucky. My clowns are all from captive bred systems (Sustainable Aquatics) so I never bothered. But with LiveAquaria order, I think it would be best if I did. Any votes for not necessarily needing QT or just do a light one for preventative measures?
  3. Is the whole Ich TTM really required?

Whenever I receive new fish I put them in an observation tank for at least two weeks before starting tank transfer. After tank transfer is complete I move them into another (sterile) observation tank where I try to fatten them up.
I recommend running praziquantel (prazipro) and feeding metroplex laced foods prophylactically. I do this with all new arrivals to eliminate any worms or other intestinal parasites.

TTM is really pretty easy. Just try it. Consider it an experiment if nothing else.

Note that TTM also helps with preventative medications like Prazipro.
You know you are doing 100% water changes, so can control dosage in the water exactly.

I would really skip the copper, formaldehyde, or other poison based meds completely.