40g ADA move and upgrade

Discussion in 'Tank Journals' started by Chromis, Nov 26, 2016.

  1. Chromis

    Chromis Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    195
    Major setback today, I plugged in my Vortec to start mixing in salt to the RO water I filled the tank with, and found out that the new wall outlet my contractor specially installed behind my tank doesn't work at all! We spent two hours testing the wall outlets and he can't come back to fix it until after xmas. On the plus side I will spend xmas with my family with fewer distractions ;) My poor fish have been in the garage holding tank for two months now... with only a protein skimmer for filtration and one water change a month ago.[​IMG]

    Here is a view of my poor reef in the garage, past the new tank, with styrofoam strapped to the holding tank for warmth!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Julius Chen

    Julius Chen Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    41
    Take this opportunity to ask ur contractor if he can add a second outlet from another circuit.

    I have two, so to support plenty amp draws from and somewhat redundancy in heaters and wavemakers.
     
  3. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    920
    I'm surprised he installed an outlet for a fish tank and didn't install a GFCI outlet.
     
    Coral reefer likes this.
  4. BSAJim

    BSAJim Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    24
    +1 on the multiple circuits. I had two isolated (nothing else on the circuit) installed when I upgraded and moved tanks. One drives the main system including the APEX, the other powers the in-tank circulation system. If a breaker goes, I still have tank circulation. Also, get a commercial GFCI. The cheap ones from Home Depot / Lowes are notoriously unreliable. OK for your hairdryer in the bathroom, risky for the tank.
     
    Newjack likes this.
  5. Vhuang168

    Vhuang168 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    839
    +2. I had my electrician install 2 isolated 20amp circuits with gfci outlets for the 190.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. Julius Chen

    Julius Chen Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    41
    While he is at it, ask to add a live ethernet port there too! Your wireless capable equipment may not be super stable.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Gablami likes this.
  7. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    421
    I was having lots of drops on my apex on wifi, like 8-10 a day. Switched to wired connection and have had zero.
     
  8. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12,659
    Likes Received:
    983
    While I agree on multiple outlets, I would be a bit pissed about giving him any further money if he can't make one outlet work right, I mean crap did he not test it? Did you pop a breaker by chance?
     
    Newjack and Gablami like this.
  9. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,669
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Time for a different contractor or a real electrician me thinks.
     
    Newjack likes this.
  10. BSAJim

    BSAJim Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    24
    +3 My Apex wireless was frequently dropping. Zero issues since hardwired to the router.
     
  11. BSAJim

    BSAJim Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    24
    Mike - good question. Chromis - anything else on that circuit?

    One problem created by electricians is daisy chaining outlets off of a ground fault. if the outlet detects a fault and pops, all the outlets downstream go dead, while the circuit breaker in the box is unaffected. It can be frustrating troubleshoot experience.
     
    Coral reefer likes this.
  12. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    920
    Our home is all wired with 12 gauge wiring and 20 amp breakers. I've never had a problem with a breaker popping due to too much amperage draw. I've also only had GFCIs pop when they should.
     
    Newjack likes this.
  13. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    920
    I don't know why you guys have had such problems with your wifi connectivity with your apex. Mine's not dropped yet.
     
  14. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    421
    When I look for networks there are usually ~10 networks within range (have apartments next door). That's probably causing some wifi interference I'm guessing.
     
  15. BSAJim

    BSAJim Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    24
    I seem to have bad computer Karma :confused:
     
  16. wpeterson

    wpeterson Webmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    413
    Looking good! I think you'll love that Eshopps overflow. I did a 40breeder build here with the same overflow.

    I hope the flex tubing works out well for you. I recently re-plumbed my tank during a move to remove the flexible tubing and used hard-PVC for everything. I had to swap my gate valve for a ball valve on the Herbie main drain, but I was still able to dial it in well enough. Hard plumbing looks nice and I have a lot more confidence in it long term, especially with more unions in place to allow maintenance/disassembly.

    That being said, halfway through my re-plumbing job I was wondering if I should have used the same flexible tubing you did and keep it simpler.
     
  17. Chromis

    Chromis Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    195
    Yea... every bathroom outlet is GFCI and he knew this was for an aquarium... so what gives? I'll ask for this on Monday.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. roostertech

    roostertech reef noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    461
    If you are putting in battery backup then you might not want gfci before battery as it might trip unintended.
     
  19. Vhuang168

    Vhuang168 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    839
    How or why does that happen?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  20. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,669
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    What?
     

Share This Page