Jestersix

Help - Wellso is showing skeleton/dying

ghermes

Supporting Member
Anyone have any ideas of what could be going on with my Wellso? It's been in the tank since November. I am new to reefing. The tank is about 1.5 years old.

100 gal display
Salt 34 PPT
9.25 Alk
477 Cal
1314 Mag
PO4 0.29
PO3 ~8
Temp 78
PAR ~200

IMG_4669.JPG

What's your nitrates looking like in that tank? Did anything drop or it or stung it recently?
Nitrates are about 8. There was a mushroom touching it. Not sure if that can cause a problem. I moved the mushroom to another location tonight.

I would use gfo instead since nitrates at 8 is fine.
Thanks, I moved it to a new location and off of the sand bed onto a rock. Someone else mentioned their's had an issue sitting on the sand. It should also get a little less light in the new location Not familiar with gfo, but I will look into it. Thanks!

I wouldn't worry too much about your PAR. The Wellso doesn't look bleached or suffering from excessive amount of light from the looks of it. I have some of my lps sitting in 250 PAR currently.

Your nitrates/phosphates are okay as well. While most don't run their phosphates at those levels, it isn't detrimental to LPS, especially if they're accustomed to it. Heck, there are even those that run higher levels for specific sps, mainly tenuis.

The damage is most likely due to it being stung by the mushroom more than anything. I'd just leave it alone to recover. Just make sure that you monitor the wound to make sure that it isn't affected by any sort of brown jelly syndrome/disease.

I wouldn't worry too much about your PAR. The Wellso doesn't look bleached or suffering from excessive amount of light from the looks of it. I have some of my lps sitting in 250 PAR currently.