Our mission

My tang is blind?

i actually picked up a clown tang over at aquarium showroom yesterday and it seems like it is blind because its swimming around bumping into rocks and the glass and will not flinch wen i tap on the glass...i used the drip method to acclimate it for about an hour and water condition was same as the tank's...then put him in the display with no lighting...is this a common thing? anything i can do to really check if it is really blind or not? ???

IMO i'd say it's less likely that he is blind and more likely that he has some sort of parasite or sickness that's causing him to behave that way. But... I'm no expert. :-

When my Kole tang got really sick with Ich (he was litterally on deaths door), there was a point when he started swimming in circles with eyes fixed. It looked like he was blind, but there was no cloudyness to his eyes. I attributed it to brain damage from oxygen deprivation because his gills were so impacted from the Ich. I should tell you that prior to his circling, he layed flat on his side, barely moving for 2 days (except for the rapid gilling, of course). Then after circling for a bit, he lay down again for another day.

I also once brought home a tang from the LFS. The sales person put it in a tiny bag without O2, only air. I had my doubts about the bagging because I know that tangs are very active fish and probably use lots of oxygen. We didn't get home right away, and sure enough, that tang died the next day. Prior to that, whenever he did try to swim, he would bump into whatever was in front of him. :(

I'm sorry for your tang. I do hope it recovers.

[quote author=Lyn link=topic=5838.msg73266#msg73266 date=1231391367]