Our mission

Whats the best brand for salt?

Just wondering whats the best brand is for salt. I read the article for the salt testing and saw Reef Crystal Seasalt was the best (in that test). Then I saw that they had problems.. >< So now as a newbie what is the best salt mix?

I'm using Reef Crystals, and I am not having any problems. As soon as I finish the bucket of Reef Crystals, I will be jumping ship and using SeaChem Reef Salt.
I have also used Tunze salt in the past with good results, though being a reefer on a budget I cannot afford to continually pay the price Tunze wants for their salt.

I was going to go with the boner of the month salt on nanoreef a few months back but then talked to my LFS and he basically said "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

I started with Coralife scientific marine salt and have been using it with no problems at all. $.02

Same here Jay, I have been using Coralife for 8 years and never had a problem with it. I don't think a lot of people are using Coralife but it always worked for me so I always stayed with it.

I don't think you are going to get a single "this is the best" answer from anyone as indicated from above. Some people have been either snake bit or have read things about one particular brand of salt that seriously turns them off. Others just have been using one particular type and are used to doing what they need to do to make whatever adjustments are necessary or have a brand loyalty.

Some salts will have very high numbers in certain areas and very low in others, some are more balanced etc. etc..

Personally I use Tropic Marin Pro but I know there are several other brands that are likely just as good. My thought process is why fix what ain't broke. I know when I was deciding I read a bunch on Reef Central and tried to make the best decision based on stability, and the chemical levels I thought would work best with what I was running.