High Tide Aquatics

Gerbil's First Tank: 15g Indo-Pacific Reef

IMGP1695.jpg

Hello everyone! I'm new to reef keeping even though I've been familiar with a lot of the marine invertebrates and their biology for many years, but only occurred to me recently to start my first reef tank. I understand that the husbandry side is a completely different beast but I've been having a lot of fun learning so far. The tank has been running since November 2010 and I added the first three corals at the start of this year. I'm dealing with some cloudiness issues, but I think several more large water changes should do the trick.

Corals
Fortunately for me, the corals I'm most interested in right now also happen to be the easier ones to care for.

Zoanthus:
IMGP1691.jpg

Branching hammer coral (Euphyllia parancora). Not the prettiest head but it's sprouted many tentacles since I got it:
IMGP1698.jpg

Plate coral (Fungia):
IMGP1693.jpg

Other Invertebrates
I've added many motile invertebrates, mostly from Indo-Pacific Sea Farms:
Trochus
Stomatella varia snail
Dwarf zebra hermit crabs (Calcinus laevimanus)
Periwinkle snails (Littoraria)
Amphipods (Grammarus
)
Bristle worms
Spaghetti worm
Sandbed clams (Tapes
)
Copepods

There are also numerous hitchhikers, mostly tiny brittle stars, tiny serpulids worms, and a handful small corallimorphs that looks like tiny Pseudocorynactis
polyps, but I'm not sure. A number of cool hitchhikers have died or are MIA, including some small featherdusters and Asterina
stars.

Fish
There will be a single fish in the tank, a regular ocellaris clownfish. I'll get it as soon as Aquatic Central gets a new shipment of captive-bred clowns. I actually fell in love with clowns because of a reef tank in the lobby of a UCD undergrad building over 10 years ago.

Goals & Themes

1. Indo-Pacific back reef, as described in John Tullock's books.
2. As much captive-bred and fragged animals as possible, or otherwise low environmental impact.