Cali Kid Corals

Hi and advice on tank move/setup

JVU

President
BOD
Hi everyone,

I'm new to BAR but I've been in the reef aquarium hobby for about 17 years or so. I've recently decided to get more active in the hobby since I've enjoyed it for so long, so I'm planning a tank upgrade and I'm interested in getting more involved in the local club and online forums.

My current tank is an unbranded 75g display with about 30g sump/refugium that I bought used around 6 years ago. Mixed reef but dominated by softies.

I'm planning an upgrade to a larger rimless low iron glass setup. I considered lots of different options and am currently most interested in the new Red Sea Reefer 750 coming out soon (160g main with 40 sump). The new tank will go the same place as the old tank and I plan to keep most of the livestock, which adds some extra logistics to think about and probably a multi-step move.

Up until now I've been able to do my own tank moves and setups by myself with the occasional one other non-reefer to help with lifting. Now I think I would be better off with additional muscle as well as additional setup experience/expertise. I live in Walnut Creek. Do you folks have any recommendations for someone to help me with the move/setup?

Thanks,
John

I can't help with the lifting, but I can help with other stuff. I'm also in Walnut Creek. However, my suggestion would be to have a professional do it at a discounted rate! Jess at Diablo Corals in Pleasant Hill just became a Red Sea retailer. He has often in the past done delivery and basic set-up for customers in our area for a very reasonable hourly if the tank is purchased through his shop.

I agree with Bruce. When I ordered my reefer through Neptune Aquatics, I negotiated a rate with some of the fellas that work there to deliver the tank and help me set it up. For an hourly rate I'm sure they would be happy to help move your old one.

Ive also toyed with the idea of one day going bigger, and in the same tank location.