Cali Kid Corals

Keeping LPS corals under LED lighting

I’ve had a Red Sea Max with dual Ai 26HD as lighting. Understand I’ve been reefing since 1986 using T5 and Metal Halide. I’m keeping all LPS corals and would like to know which LPS corals can take light at the top of the tank instead of placing them along the bottom as suggested. Using LED’s maybe cool for newer reefers but personally I find them to be a pain in the ass. What settings are people using so they don’t negatively affect corals at the top where I am currently have acans and favia.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The AI app has a setting that uses Kelvins and total % rather than individual sliders. I suggest using that and starting at 15% total. It will look dark to you coming from T5 and MH but coral survive too little light better than too much light.

The AI app has a setting that uses Kelvins and total % rather than individual sliders. I suggest using that and starting at 15% total. It will look dark to you coming from T5 and MH but coral survive too little light better than too much light.

Where is it located? (On the App) I can’t find it

Go to control then select manual. There is an icon in the top right

Looks like concentric circles.

It will take you to a screen that looks like this.

1d37e4ac2502bdf72182030efad2ba3b.jpg

it too
much for LPS. There is a store next to me Fish etc. - they have display tank with same light and LPS on top - their light looks like 25-30% max.

How high off water are your lights, and how far below the surface is the top of your rocks? Generally I set them about 60-75 blues, 40 white. 10 red and green.
Why use the leds if they are a pain? T5 and halide still work great.

How high off water are your lights, and how far below the surface is the top of your rocks? Generally I set them about 60-75 blues, 40 white. 10 red and green.
Why use the leds if they are a pain? T5 and halide still work great.