Neptune Aquatics

How to fish? I'm new at this...

Hi every, I just bought a starter kit from South Bend, which comes with a pole, a reel, and a tackle filled with lures, and hooks. Well I have some questions of how to fish, and set up my lines.

My history in fishing started when I was in middle school. My brother taught my how to fish with a little thin bamboo stick and some lines with a single hooks and weight 1oz. Once middle school days were over, I stop fishing and didn't really like it anymore. Over the last weekend, Friday the 3rd of July 2009, I tried fishing with a real ready to fish pole from Cala... something, It's a reno fishing pole brand that my nephew have. It's an 6 foot long pole that comes with a basic reel with a housing for the lines inside. After fished one fish, Smelt(if that how i suppose to spell it), I started to like it.

Yesterday, I decided to follow my brother to check out some fishing supplies and pole and I found this really cool combo pole from South Bend.

Well, the combo came pretty much with everything i need. I bought some thicker line just in case my 10lb line snap, but I'm not going to install it yet.

The question is, how do i set up the hook on a line and connect to a leader line?
I heard that I need a license to fish, but how much just for the summer?

You can buy a day license or a full year IIRC, sadly no seasonal licenses. I believe the laws are different when it comes to fishing off of a man made structure, in that case you don't need a license. I'm not exactly sure where the state draws the line on that though.

AFA hooking up your leader it really depends on what you are going after, that really dictates how you string everything up.

The license is like $50 and well worth it. I'd get it even if your going to fish of piers and such.

http://www.dfg.ca.gov/licensing/ols/intro.html

And check these out as you'll need to be up on them. Ignorance of the law is illegal after all.

http://www.dfg.ca.gov/fish/Fishing/