got ethical husbandry?

Newbie Reefer and BAR Member

ReyDeFarts

Photography, Contests
BOD
20231118_195657.jpg

Happy day reefing folks! My name is Andy. I live in Salinas. Excited to be here and looking forward to getting to meet you all. I have kept freshwater aquariums off and on for many years. I'm a proud ignorant newbie to the reefing hobby though. Stoked to take something on that has intrigued me for decades. A saltwater and reef tank had always been a dream but not attainable for various reasons. Recently, I finally got the itch to give it a try and research what it would take. My confidence grew the more I learned. I always believed it would be too demanding and difficult. I decided on a nano, due mainly to budget constraints. But also, to try a smaller water volume because it is more difficult. I'm not easily discouraged by mistakes and honestly, I'd rather make small mistakes now and understand what I'm doing wrong before upgrading to something larger and know how much easier it will be.

So I got myself a used Fluval Evo 13.5gal. It hasn't been going for long. Thankfully, I had a smooth cycling process by getting some matured biomedia from a local buddy. Technically, it's still cycling but the initial start up process was smooth is what I mean.

I joined the forum a few days ago but did not get a chance to get acquainted with the threads and folks here yet. I was fortunate enough to meet someone this morning via Facebook, @Matthew Meyer . He started off with shaming me for not being a supporting member Of BAR! Then he cheated me out of $5 for not being a supporting member. I mean GEEZ! Is this how you start off all your friendships man?! I figured I'd better fix the priorities in my life and join the cool kids club. So here I am, trying to not get scolded!