High Tide Aquatics

PSA: Should've followed my gut (Learn from my mistakes)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Everyone,

Long time reef follower but new reefer! I've always thought keeping reefs and saltwater fish was an amazing hobby but I could never flip the switch to actually purchase my first aquarium... until yesterday. I did my research and watched videos to gain as much knowledge as I could.

I knew I wanted something small cause I'm limited on space in my house, so I decided that a Biocube 14 Gallon or an Innovative Marine 10 Gallon AIO would be perfect... I found on craigslist a lady selling a CoralLife BioCube 14 that was listed as basically knew cause she had only used it as a quarantine tank. I told her I was a newbie, and there I made my first mistake... I asked her what I should do and how I should set it up. She seemed very nice over text and answering all my questions. She said that I was getting a steal for the Biocube 14 gallon (and she gave me a heater and live sand to start off) for ONLY $125.

I was amazed by her generosity cause she had also said she would give me some frags and a light when I was ready to grow some awesome coral.

Once I got home, I found out there were issues with the Biocube. So I had messaged her to ask for a refund because it has merely been 12 hours before and it was still sitting in the back of my car. Her response to was "Sorry, you can sell it again on craiglist but I can't take it back. That is the risk for getting used items on Craigslist." She knew I was a newbie and took advantage of that. I even offered her to only refund me $100 and that she could keep $25 as a inconvenience fee. She has now ignored my messages since.

Now still less than 24 hours since I had bought my "awesome" BioCube, I'm sitting here out of $125. I cannot imagine selling a biocube with issues, like she did because I do not want for someone to fall on the same sword I did.