Rygh's 250 gallon - rev.2

Discussion in 'Tank Journals' started by rygh, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. Wlachnit

    Wlachnit Vice President

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    297
    Well...now I'm disappointed that you're not doing the DIY... ;-)
     
  2. Flagg37

    Flagg37 Colorado member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    922
    Personally I've always liked shimmer and unless the shading is extreme it really doesn't bother me. I'm with you on the DIY project. I always find enjoyment from building something myself but there's a point where you just want it done.
     
    Coral reefer likes this.
  3. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12,676
    Likes Received:
    983
    24x24 area and 55w? HA! Yeah. I think most lights claim that. I mean ok technically a single 5mm LED could do that, but how effective it is who knows.

    But I think you got a good plan doing overlapping smaller areas. I've been toying with the idea of a moving lighting system just so I don't need lights over the whole tank, but I'm way behind on the curve when it comes to even get a tank up :D

    And yeah, grand ambitions, but no time/energy/etc to see it through, that's the story of my life :D
     
  4. roostertech

    roostertech reef noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    461
    At the 60% profile that I'm running my Hydra 26 drain about 56w. Shadowing aside, that can cover 24x24 area (and more) easily for mixed reef purpose. The miyagi tort (My hardest sps yet) seems to be growing just fine 12" from surface.

    Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
     
    Coral reefer likes this.
  5. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    676
    The problem with movable lights is you need to increase the time they are on.
    Lets say you do a 50% light, that is on each side half the time. Then the light has to be on twice as long.
    Seems like it would drive the fish nuts.
     
  6. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    676
    They are somewhat spread out, but not really all that far.
    My tank is 28" wide, front to back, and I don't think a row along the center would do it.
    Although I could do that and also have extra strips.
     
  7. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    354
    Hang them like mine it'll get all around coverage.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  8. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    676
    True. Although my tank is 16" longer, so I would need 5. $$$
     
  9. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    354
    What you think of this configuration. You have more control of all the LEDs too with ghl's pucks.

    I -- -- I

    ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  10. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    354
    Scott lief has a 500 gallon tank and only running 6 of them I think you can get by with 4


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  11. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    676
    I am sure it would work for coral growth, but it still seems like you would get weird coverage.
    I think the only good way is like you have on your tank, but with an extra one for my longer tank.
    The difference is then:
    Cost = +50%
    reflectors vs lenses. Pros/Cons on each
    Diode selection and programming are roughly the same.
     
  12. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673
    Likes Received:
    1,145
    If you're Willing to spend the money go w the primes. Will work well. Just think you could do like 5-6 hydra 26 and get pretty good coverage for less.
     
  13. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    354
    What about 5 radion non pro?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  14. Vhuang168

    Vhuang168 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    839
    I would put hydra 26 coverage at 18x24. Meaning you would want 8 and will have spill over. The 52s would work better.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    676
    Installed a CO2 scrubber.
    I have fairly low PH, and @Gablami had a slightly used one cheap, so thought I would try it.
    Results are so-so.
    It made a difference, but not that much.
    Old range was 7.75 to 7.95.
    New range is 7.9 to 8.1
    It is better on the low end, which is nice.
    I double checked Alk, and it is around 10.
    I dose Vinegar, and I use Baking Soda for the Alk 2 part. So my theory is that those are still driving PH down.
    I am already seeing a bit of purple in the media after just a few days, so I worry how long it will last.


    IMG_1661.JPG ph_graph.jpg
     
  16. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    354
    Your best bet is to get outside air. You'll kill through those media quick.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  17. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    676
    I tried that a while back with a tube out the door. No real difference.
    My sump is in the garage, and back door is usually open when we are home, so lots of fresh air.

    I have also tried micro-bubbles.
    I put a small airstone under a powerhead, so it chopped it up.
    Again, no difference.

    I really think it is 3 things:
    1) Auto-Vinegar dosing every 3 hours.
    2) Auto-Alk dosing with Baking soda, not soda ash.
    3) A fairly enclosed display tank, so not very good O2/CO2 exchange there.
    (I want to limit moisture in the house)

    Key is looking at the PH plot. It still never has a plateau at the top.

    So to me, it is more an issue of not enough overall air exchange, not so much the air itself.
    The skimmer alone simply can't do it.

    I need to improve my ventilation system on the sump and main tank.
    I do pull some air through the enclosed systems, but not enough.
     
  18. roostertech

    roostertech reef noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    461
    PH is in log scale so even a 0.1 movement is significant.

    If CO2 pure air (after scrubber) doesn't move it that much, then outside air, which has 300-400ppm CO2, won't do much.
     
    rygh likes this.
  19. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    421
    It's still going up! We haven't seen the zenith yet. Turning up your DC skimmer power might help too. You can try taking it to 100% and bring the water level down and see if that helps further.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  20. Gablami

    Gablami Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    421
    I think it's got something to do with the air over there. Rooster right next door also has lower pH.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page